Showing posts with label Deleted photo. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Deleted photo. Show all posts

Saturday, 18 August 2012

Facebook is finally Delete Your 'deleted' photos


it looks like the whole Facebook-not-deleting-your-photos-when-it-said-it-had saga might be coming to an end.
Back in February, we reported that the "Delete this photo" button wasn't actually deleting the photo from Facebook's content delivery networks, at least not for a long while anyway.
So despite the photo disappearing from your profile, if you plugged the image url straight into your browser you could still see it.
It's less shutting the door on the photo and more masking it with a beaded curtain.
Now the problem has been fixed, as Frederic Wolens from Facebook told Ars Technica:
As a result of work on our policies and infrastructure, we have instituted a 'max-age' of 30 days for our CDN links.
However, in some cases the content will expire on the CDN much more quickly.